The Unforgettable Trip :: Nashville, South Bend, and everything in between

Ok, I may be a little late on this post as I got back from this vacation two months ago!

I had been looking forward to this trip for about four years, well not exactly this trip but going to South Bend for a Notre Dame football game.

IMG_5571

Jealousy took over that my younger brother was going to games every year and I was not. So, last season I said ‘THAT’S IT, I AM GOING NEXT SEASON!’  I got to planning; getting my family on board and fate stepped in. I received a voucher earlier in the year that ended up covering my entire flight! With out that voucher, I really don’t know what I was thinking putting this trip together while planning a wedding! I however, believe life is too short and $$$ should never stop you (within reason!)

Anyway, once I finally got to Nashville a day late due to weather conditions in Denver resulting in missing my connection and lost luggage, I was a bit lack-luster to say the least. The whole ordeal was full of drama, but I will save the whining.  Looking on the bright side ,I got to spend the night in Denver, my future home, with my bestie and my luggage was retrieved shortly after landing!

Alright Nashville, lets see what ya got!

IMG_5457 IMG_5458 IMG_5459 IMG_5460 IMG_5464  IMG_5468 IMG_5465 IMG_5472 IMG_5473

OH.MY.GOD. do I LOVE this town. Nashville won me over almost instantly! Hello; amazing BBQ on every corner, LIVE country music in every bar, cheap drinks; what is NOT to love? I was sad I didn’t get the couple of days I had been planning on, but I was grateful for the evening my brother, his girlfriend, and I had!  We ate at Jack’s Bar-B-Que, unfortunately all BBQ I will eat from here on out will never compare!  SO GOOD! Then we parked our butts at the Honkey Tonk Central, got ourselves buckets of beer (which turned into shots), enjoyed live music and some baseball on TV. Now here is where my lack-luster really turned around; the second band came around for song requests and instantly, without even thinking, Fishing in the Dark came out of  my mouth! Duh right? He was so pumped, I was so pumped(minus the fact he dubbed me ‘California’)IMG_5469

A bucket list come true, I danced to Fishing in the Dark in Nashville, TN!

The night had to come to an end and on to Evansville, IN, where my brother and his girlfriend reside.

CUTE little town! Krista and I even found a good little sushi place!

Even more exciting that finding good sushi in the middle of the Mid-West, is the crazy amount of AMAZING antique malls there! My Mom and I were in heaven!

Another exciting and bucket-list-checking event happened; you have seen the movie A League of Their Own right? Of course you have!

IMG_5481Many scenes form the movie were filmed at  Bosse Field, right there in Evansville! The ballpark was built in 1915, making it the third-oldest ballpark still in regular use in the US. This was a very specialty treat for me, cameras in tow, the manager of the Otters let us in for a few shots!

IMG_5484 IMG_5485 IMG_5486 IMG_5507 IMG_5515 IMG_7724 IMG_7758

Then it was across the street for more BBQ and sweet tea!

Fast forward through alot of driving and a couple days we were finally in South Bend Indiana! Home of the University of Notre Dame! Where I have been yearning to be for years! Haven’t set foot here since, well I believe 2005. My whole family came out for this, my Mom and her husband, my Dad, and a couple of my brothers friends from high school. We made it in time for the pep rally Friday night and the tunnel walk through.

IMG_5628

Lou Holtz

 IMG_5552 IMG_5562 IMG_5567 IMG_5568  IMG_5573 IMG_5586 IMG_5594 IMG_5597 IMG_5598 IMG_5620

The unforgettable in this unforgettable trip came from that night. (cliff hanger…..)

Saturday morning was a slow moving adventure, but once we got to the campus things started to look up. The atmosphere at ND on game day is UNREAL! It will turn anyone into a ND fan, whether or not they admit this is another thing. I saw plenty of USC fans posing with Touchdown Jesus and buying blue and gold memorabilia at the book store!

IMG_5636

The Hammes Book Store

IMG_0129 IMG_5638

You bet we picked the great rivalry game between ND and SC, cherry on top: NIGHT GAME! We had a few hours to walk around the campus, take pics,  and enjoy all the traditional festivities at Notre Dame! It could not have been a more perfect day or game.

IMG_0116 IMG_0122 IMG_0131 IMG_0136   IMG_5610 IMG_5656 IMG_5660 IMG_5666 IMG_5686

IMG_5664 IMG_5689 IMG_5707IMG_0137

IMG_0147IMG_0174 IMG_0169 IMG_0166

This trip was emotionally, physically, and spiritually draining! (for reasons I did not go into detail) I wish I could say that I wouldn’t change anything about the trip, but I do wish I could. However,  it was what it was and I will NEVER forget this trip and I will keep these memories made with my family forever.

IMG_0191

IRISH WIN!

Leave a Reply

